Everybody is familiar with what “kosher” food is, right? You see the little “circle K” or “circle U” on food labels as the indicator of that product meeting certain religious preparation standards.
For example, for the longest time Oreo cookies were never kosher – sweet tooths had to be satisfied by eating Hydrox cookies instead.
Passover, on the other hand, has a more special label and marketing behind it at the supermarket. That’s where you may see a more elaborate display indicating foods that are “Certified Kosher for Passover” rather than being merely “kosher”.
Kosher for Passover requires the food to be made without ingredients that shouldn’t be eaten during the Passover holiday – this food, like Wonder Bread and cakes and most beers – all contain yeast. And yeast is apparently evil of evils and must be disposed of before the Passover seder can begin. All those foods that can’t be eaten during Passover are classified as “chometz”.
But guess what? Bacon – and we’re talking full-on pork bacon, not that whimpy turkey bacon – can be classified and eaten as “Kosher for Passover”.